citylasas.blogg.se

Powerbook g4 specs 12 inch
Powerbook g4 specs 12 inch









  1. POWERBOOK G4 SPECS 12 INCH INSTALL
  2. POWERBOOK G4 SPECS 12 INCH DRIVERS
  3. POWERBOOK G4 SPECS 12 INCH 32 BIT

I recommend setting up a cross-compilation environment, if you can. I have used PPC debian sid on my 15" G4 since 2018 with no issues that bad. It causes more trouble than it's worth, even on Intel machines. Still need to get past the libwebp6 issue on Debian (I used Lubuntu) but it might just be some compiler options.ĭon't the 12" books use nvidia GPU's? How's that working? Does Nouveau support GeForce chips that old? Does hardware acceleration work at all?Īnyway: my thoughts/advice (for what it's worth): I've also considered making my own distro, but that remains in the early planning stage for now since I have very little programming knowledge.Įdit 1: I got sound working using the fix found on the MintPPC website. Overall, Linux for PowerPC big endian is not in a great state, but I hope this changes with the next release of Adelie soon. There's probably some way to fix this, but for now void doesn't work.

POWERBOOK G4 SPECS 12 INCH INSTALL

It didn't install on my computer anyway, staying indefinitely on the grub installation phase of the installation.

POWERBOOK G4 SPECS 12 INCH 32 BIT

Void PPC: This distro is getting rid of the musl big endian repositories soon and therefore will have problems on 32 bit big endian powerpc computers in the near future. While applications that were installed worked just fine, sound didn't work through speakers or headphones. This would likely be even worse in Ubuntu MATE/Lubuntu 16.04 but I haven't tried either of them. There might be a way to fix this (equivalent to for ports?) but for now I can't run updates in this distro. Lubuntu PowerPC Remix by wicknix: This distro worked out of the box, but the powerpc updates, backports, and security servers don't work (main is the only one that works). Chances are, Debian PPC is maintained by a single person and has very little to no actual testing. The pulseaudio dependency libwebp6 isn't installed and I can't seem to compile it (I end up compiling libwebp7 every single time) and the speakers+headphones don't work anyway.

POWERBOOK G4 SPECS 12 INCH DRIVERS

After compiling b43-fwcutter from source and installing the RIGHT WiFi drivers for my computer (the first time around I installed b43 legacy instead of b43) the WiFi actually worked. This has been fixed, but I haven't tried out the new version yet.ĭebian sid PPC: After following the GRUB workaround found in this video's description, Debian installed and worked. It's in beta and rc3 is set to come out soon.ĪrchPOWER: I was able to boot into the CD and install the OS, but it just kernel panics every time I try to boot. The HDD needs to be manually formatted and file permissions are messed up as well. It works fine and I was able to get it installed using Action Retro's guide, but WiFi and other hardware doesn't work, and it refuses to launch Arctic Fox browser or any programs that aren't in the repos. Here's what I have found:Īdelie Linux: This is the first distro that I tried out. Over the past 3 weeks I have been trying to install a variety of PowerPC Linux distributions on my PowerBook G4 12 inch, and documenting the process.











Powerbook g4 specs 12 inch